16 faculty-staff awarded \$1,000 for service

Texas A&M cited 16 facultystaff members for distinguished service at its annual Faculty **Recognition and Awards Program** Thursday.

The Association of Former Students presented \$1,000 awards and Commemorative watches to 12 members of the university's faculty and staff. The Standard Oil (Indiana) Foundation made three similar \$1,000 presentations.

Former Students awards for teaching went to Dr. Zerle L. Carpenter, associate professor of animal science; Dr. John W. Huff, associate professor, veterinary

good, head of the Agricultural Engineering Department.

Also Dr. Carl W. Landiss, head of the Health and Physical Education Department; Dr. Herbert H. Lang, professor of history; Dr. Walter A. Varvel, professor, psychology, and Dr. Earl S. Webb, professor, agricultural education. Awards for research were pre-

sented to Dr. Ethan C. Holt, professor of soil and crop sciences and leader of his department's forage and turf section; Dr. Richard W. Moore, professor, veterinary microbiology, and Dr.

microbiology; Prof. Price Hob- Igor V. Sarkissian, professor of tural Economics and Sociology biology.

Robert H. Fletcher, associate professor of mechanical engineering, received the association's award for individual student relations.

The extension award was given to Bluefford G. Hancock, horticulturist in the Texas Agricultural Extension Service.

Standard Oil awards, all for teaching, went to Dr. Rayford G. Anthony, associate professor, chemical engineering; Dr. Earl Jones, professor in the Curriculum and Instruction and Agricul-

the program in G. Rollie Coliseum. Former Students Departments, associate dean of dent James L. Sewall of] the College of Education and director of Programa de Educación presented the association a Interamericana, and Herbert G. Veterans club Thompson, associate professor of

elects officers marketing. Dr. A. M. Sorensen Jr., pro-The A&M Veterans Club fessor of animal science, was elected officers for the con formally recognized during the school year. awards program for his previously announced selection for a president; John George, fint Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation president; John Whalen, Award, which also included a vice president; Marshall Fle \$1,000 honorarium. secretary; Artie Beach, trea

William (Bud) Boyd wil

Bob Nicklin, parliamentariar

Gen. A. R. Luedecke, acting university president, presided at



AGGIES ... DON'T DELAY! Order Your Boots Now For Future Delivery - Small Payment Will Do YOUR BOOTS MADE TO ORDER

THE BATTALION College Station, Texas Wed

Read Battalion Classifieds

Wednesday, May 27, 1970

Convenient Lay-Away Plan ONLY \$70.00 A PAIR

Page 6

Economy Shoe Repair & Boot Co. 509 W. Commerce, San Antonio 'CA 3-0047