## LOCALS.

## The Alumni.

The alumni association, at its executive session, elected the following officers for the ensuing year: E. W. Hutchinson, Houston, president; F. Marion Law, Bryan, W. A. F. Trenckman, Bellville, L. E. Allen, Marlin, W. L. Dazey, vice presidents; P. S. Tilson, College Station, secretary and treasurer; B. C. Pittuck, College Station, member of executive committee; W. B. Philpott, College Station, alumni editor Battalion.

The following resolution was unanimously passed by the association:

Whereas, it is the desire of the alumni and Alpha Phi fraternity of the State Agricultural and Mechanical college of Texas to be represented in the appointment of officers of the United States volunteer guard; and

Whereas, the old boys have responded promptly and enthusiastically to the call for men to bear arms in the defense of our common country, taking their places in the ranks as privates as well as officers, and in the selection of one of our members believe that none is more suitable by reason of his military bearing and his rare personal qualities than Capt. E. J. Smith of Denison; therefore be it

Resolved, that a committee be appointed to memorialize the proper authorities to appoint Captain Smith to a position of responsibility and honor in the volunteer guard, and that the association, as a body and individually, do all in their power to accomplish the purpose of these resolutions.

The grand chapter of the Alpha Phi, at its business